The Canadian Dental Association recognizes the impact of systemic diseases, such as diabetes and immunocompromised states on the periodontal tissues. A report on oral health ('Oral Health in America: A Report of the Surgeon General') released May 25, 2000 supports the possible association between periodontal disease and systemic disease. This report suggests that the signs and symptoms of life-threatening diseases may appear in the mouth long before they show up in other parts of the body.

The Surgeon General's report highlights a bi-directional interaction between oral and systemic health. Systemic conditions noted to occur with oral manifestations include diabetes, cutaneous diseases, hereditary disease, joint disease, immunocompromised states and osteoporosis.

Recent evidence presented in this report, primarily from epidemiological studies, now suggests that there may be an association between periodontitis and certain systemic disorders, notably cardiovascular disease (artherosclerosis, heart attacks and strokes) and complications of pregnancy (pre-term birth and low birthweight infants).

While a number of interactions have been identified, other reviewers suggest no or limited relationship. Therefore, additional research is needed to evaluate disease pathogenesis, relationships to the oral cavity and possible therapeutic interventions.

Dentists and dental specialists are constantly looking for signs and symptoms of these diseases, which can be detected during regular oral health and physical examinations. The Canadian Dental Association recognizes the Surgeon General's report but recommends that further emphasis should be placed on research and educating dentists, physicians, students, residents, other healthcare professionals and most importantly, patients regarding the importance of these possible relationships.

This report places oral health in the perspective of systemic health and suggests that the dental and medical professions need to develop even closer ties in the future.

CDA Board of Directors
Approved: February 2005

Cet énoncé vise à présenter légitimement la question touchant l'association possible entre les maladies parodontales et les maladies systémiques et à contrebalancer les déclarations prématurées et exagérées faites par d'autres groupes. L'énoncé appuie l'importance du processus scientifique et de la pensée critique dans la diffusion de renseignements connexes sur la santé.

L'Association dentaire canadienne reconnaît l'impact des maladies systémiques, comme le diabète et les états immunodéprimés, sur les tissus parodontaux. Un rapport sur la santé buccodentaire (Oral Health in America : A Report of the Surgeon General) publié le 25 mai 2000 appuie l'association possible entre les maladies parodontales et les maladies systémiques. Ce rapport suggère que les signes et symptômes des maladies délétères peuvent apparaître dans la bouche bien avant qu'ils ne se manifestent dans d'autres parties du corps.

Le rapport du Surgeon General fait ressortir une interaction bi-directionnelle entre la santé buccodentaire et systémique, à savoir que les états systémiques se manifestant également au niveau de la cavité buccale comprennent le diabète, les maladies cutanées et hériditaires, les maladies des articulations, les états immunodéprimés et l'ostéoporose.

Les faits récents présentés dans ce rapport, tirés principalement d'études épidémiologiques, suggèrent maintenant qu'il existe une association entre la parodontite et certains troubles systémiques, notamment les maladies cardiovasculaires (arthérosclérose, crises cardiaques et infarctus) et les complications de grossesse (naissance prématurée et poids insuffisant à la naissance).

Bien que plusieurs interactions aient été identifiées, d'autres critiques suggèrent une association limitée ou nulle. Par conséquent, de plus amples recherches s'imposent pour évaluer la pathogenèse de la maladie, l'association qui existe avec la cavité buccale et les interventions thérapeutiques possibles.

Les dentistes et les spécialistes dentaires sont constamment à la recherche des signes et symptômes de ces maladies, qui peuvent être décelées lors d'examens physiques et buccodentaires réguliers. L'Association dentaire canadienne reconnaît les points soulevés par le rapport du Surgeon General, mais recommande à ce qu'on accentue la recherche et l'éducation des dentistes, des médecins, des étudiants, des résidents, d'autres professionnels de la santé et, particulièrement, des patients sur l'importance de cette association possible.

Ce rapport place la santé buccodentaire en perspective avec les maladies systémiques et suggère que les professions dentaires et médicales ont besoin de resserrer les liens à l'avenir.

Version anglaise approuvée
Conseil d'administration de l'ADC
Février 2005