Dental lasers are a subset of medical lasers. The Canadian Dental Association recognizes the potential of medical lasers for intraoral applications. Dental practitioners choosing to employ medical lasers must take responsibility for the efficacy of the chosen equipment, for establishing a physical site and appropriate procedures that will ensure the safe use of the equipment and for assuring that his/her clinical skills are sufficient for the safe and efficacious use of the equipment.

Medical lasers are a method of delivering controlled amounts of energy to carefully limited areas. The energy is used for the purpose of changing the state of hard and soft tissues and dental restorative materials.

Dental practitioners should be properly trained in the use of this equipment because of the inherent risk connected with its improper use. Educational requirements for the use of lasers in dental offices and facilities should be such that proper and safe use of this equipment is assured, and should include theoretical training, clinical training, and a meaningful examination to ensure competence.

CDA Board of Directors
Approved: February 2005

Les lasers dentaires sont un sous-ensemble des lasers médicaux. L'Association dentaire canadienne reconnaît le potentiel des lasers médicaux pour les applications intra-buccales.

Les lasers dentaires sont un sous-ensemble des lasers médicaux. L'Association dentaire canadienne reconnaît le potentiel des lasers médicaux pour les applications intra-buccales. Les praticiens dentaires qui choisissent d'utiliser les lasers médicaux doivent se tenir responsables de l'efficacité de l'équipement choisi, de l'établissement d'un site physique et de procédures appropriées pour l'utilisation sécuritaire de l'équipement, ainsi que de l'apprentissage de connaissances cliniques suffisantes pour l'utilisation sécuritaire et efficace de l'équipement.

Les lasers médicaux constituent une méthode d'apport contrôlé d'énergie dans des zones bien délimitées. L'énergie sert à modifier l'état des tissus mous et durs et des matériaux de restauration dentaires.

Les praticiens dentaires devraient recevoir une formation adéquate sur l'utilisation de cet équipement à cause du risque inhérent lié à son mauvais emploi. Les critères évalués pour l'utilisation des lasers dans les cabinets dentaires et autres installations dentaires devraient permettre d'assurer l'utilisation sécuritaire et appropriée de cet équipement et inclure une formation théorique et clinique, ainsi qu'un examen d'aptitude cohérent.

Version anglaise approuvée
Conseil d'administration de l'ADC
Février 2005