Award Categories

CDA annually recognizes exceptional individuals from among the following award categories.

CDA Medal of Honour

The Medal of Honour is the highest award conferred by the Canadian Dental Association. It is given to a dentist in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding service and professional achievement to the benefit of the dental profession, the dental community and society at large, and to which can be attributed significant change. The breadth and scope of achievement are significant factors in receipt of this award, as is the contribution that the individual has made to the goals and objectives of the Canadian Dental Association.

Due to the distinctive and special nature of this award, the award may not be conferred in any one year.

Eligibility: Recipients must be licensed dentist members of a CDA Corporate Member, non licensed (retired) dentists or an affiliate member of CDA.


CDA Honorary Membership Award

The Honorary Membership Award is given to an individual (dentist or non dentist) who has made an outstanding contribution to the dental profession, the dental community or the oral health of Canadians over a sustained period of time at the academic, corporate, specialty society, council, commission or committee level. An outstanding contribution at the national level shall be a principal consideration. The breadth and scope of achievement is a significant factor in determining this award.

Eligibility: Recipients may be licensed dentist members of a CDA Corporate Member, non licensed, (retired) dentists or an affiliate member of CDA. Non-dentists are eligible for this award as are dentists not residing in Canada.


Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is given to recognize outstanding contributions to the dental profession, the dental community or the oral health of Canadians at large, in a given year or outstanding service over a number of years. It may also recognize outstanding contributions at the academic, corporate, specialty society, council, commission or committee level.

Eligibility: Recipients may be licensed dentist members of a CDA Corporate Member, non-licensed (retired) dentists or an affiliate member of CDA. Non-dentists are eligible for this award.


Award of Merit

The Award of Merit recognizes an individual who has served in an outstanding capacity in the governing or service of the Canadian Dental Association over a sustained period of time, or who has made similar outstanding contributions to the dental profession, the dental community or the oral health of Canadians and/or society at large. Service considerations include:

  • no less than 2 full terms of exemplary service on the former CDA Executive Council and/or Board of Directors; and/or outstanding service on a CDA council/commission/task force/working group or project team, and/or
  • outstanding service elsewhere in organized dentistry at the Corporate, regulatory, specialty or academic level.

Eligibility: Recipients will be licensed dentist members of a CDA Corporate Member, non-licensed (retired) dentists or an affiliate member of CDA. Non-dentists are eligible for this award.


Special Friend of Canadian Dentistry Award

The Special Friend of Canadian Dentistry Award is conferred on an individual or organization outside of the dental profession in appreciation for exemplary support or service to Canadian dentistry and/or to the profession as a whole.

Eligibility: Recipients of this award may be dentists or non-dentists who are engaged in serving or supporting the dental profession. Should the recipient be a licensed dentist, they must be a member of a CDA Corporate Member or an affiliate member of the Canadian Dental Association.


Oral Health Promotion Award

This award recognizes individuals or organizations who have improved the oral health of Canadians through oral health promotion. This may involve creating public health policy or supportive environments, strengthening community action, developing personal skills, and/or increasing the prevention of oral diseases and disorders.

Eligibility: Recipients who are licensed dentists must be members of a CDA Corporate Member or an affiliate member of CDA. Recipients may also be organizations or non-dentists involved in oral health care.

Les distinctions

L'ADC reconnaît annuellement des personnes exceptionnelles en leur remettant l'une des distinctions ci-dessous.

Médaille d'honneur de l'ADC

La médaille d'honneur est la plus grande récompense remise par l'Association dentaire canadienne. Elle est décernée à un dentiste en reconnaissance d'une vie consacrée à des services et à des réalisations de caractère exceptionnel au profit de la profession, de la communauté dentaire et de la société en général, et auxquels peuvent être attribués des changements importants. L'ampleur et la portée des réalisations constituent des facteurs de poids pour recevoir cette récompense, tout comme la contribution que la personne choisie a faite aux buts et objectifs de l'Association dentaire canadienne.

Étant donné le caractère distinctif et spécial de cette récompense, il se peut qu'elle ne soit pas décernée tous les ans.

Admissibilité : Les lauréats doivent être des dentistes autorisés à exercer qui sont membres d'une association membre de l'ADC, des dentistes non autorisés à exercer (à la retraite) ou des membres affiliés de l'ADC.

Membre honoraire de l'ADC

Le titre de membre honoraire est décerné à une personne (qu'elle soit dentiste ou non) qui, au cours d'une période prolongée, a contribué de façon exceptionnelle à la profession dentaire, à la communauté dentaire ou à la santé buccodentaire de la population canadienne à partir d'une université, d'une entreprise, d'une société spécialisée, d'un conseil, d'une commission ou d'un comité. Pour cette distinction, les principaux facteurs pris en compte sont une contribution de caractère exceptionnel sur le plan national, ainsi que l'étendue et la portée des réalisations.

Admissibilité : Les lauréats peuvent être des dentistes autorisés à exercer qui sont membres d'une association membre de l'ADC, des dentistes non autorisés à exercer (à la retraite) ou des membres affiliés de l'ADC. Les non-dentistes, tout comme les dentistes qui ne résident pas au Canada, sont admissibles à cette distinction.

Distinction pour services émérites

La Distinction pour services émérites est remise à une personne pour ses contributions exceptionnelles à la profession dentaire, à la communauté dentaire ou à la santé buccodentaire de la population canadienne en général au cours d'une année déterminée ou d'un certain nombre d'années. Elle peut aussi récompenser une contribution exceptionnelle à la profession dentaire dans une université, une entreprise, une société spécialisée, un conseil, une commission ou un comité.

Admissibilité : Les lauréats peuvent être des dentistes autorisés à exercer qui sont membres d'une association membre de l'ADC, des dentistes non autorisés à exercer (à la retraite) ou des membres affiliés de l'ADC. Les non-dentistes sont admissibles à cette distinction.

Distinction du mérite

La Distinction du mérite est décernée à une personne qui a contribué de façon exceptionnelle, au cours d'une période prolongée, à la gouvernance ou au service de l'Association dentaire canadienne ou à la profession dentaire, à la communauté dentaire ou à la santé buccodentaire de la population canadienne ou de la société en général. La contribution doit comprendre:

  • au moins 2 mandats exemplaires complets à l'ancien conseil exécutif ou conseil d'administration de l'ADC, ou au sein d'un conseil, d'une commission, d'un comité, d'un groupe de travail, ou d'un projet d'équipe de l'ADC; ou
  • un service émérite en dentisterie organisée dans une entreprise, un organisme de réglementation, un organisme spécialisé ou une université.

Admissibilité : Les lauréats doivent être des dentistes autorisés à exercer qui sont membres d'une association membre de l'ADC, des dentistes non autorisés à exercer (à la retraite) ou des membres affiliés de l'ADC. Les non-dentistes sont admissibles à cette distinction.

Ami spécial de la dentisterie canadienne

Le titre d'Ami spécial de la dentisterie canadienne est décerné à une personne ou à un organisme qui a donné un appui exemplaire ou rendu un service éminent au secteur associatif dentaire canadien ou à la profession en général.

Admissibilité : Les lauréats peuvent être des dentistes ou des non-dentistes qui se sont engagés à servir ou à appuyer la profession dentaire. Si le lauréat est un dentiste autorisé à exercer, il doit être membre d'une association membre de l'ADC ou membre affilié de l'ADC.

Distinction pour la promotion de la santé buccodentaire

Cette distinction est décernée à des personnes ou à des organismes qui ont contribué à améliorer la santé buccodentaire de la population canadienne grâce à des efforts de promotion, lesquels peuvent inclure l'élaboration de politiques de santé publique, la création de milieux favorables, le renforcement de l'action communautaire, le perfectionnement de compétences personnelles et la prévention de maladies et affections buccodentaires.

Admissibilité : Les lauréats qui sont des dentistes autorisés à exercer doivent être membres d'une association membre de l'ADC ou membres affiliés de l'ADC. Les lauréats peuvent également être un organisme ou un non-dentiste engagé dans la prestation de soins buccodentaires.