Preamble

The origin of prosthetic joint infections has been a controversial topic for dentists, physicians and patients. Confusion surrounds the risk of dental procedure-related bacteremia and the subsequent risk of patients with orthopedic devices developing prosthetic joint infection following such bacteremia.

The Canadian Orthopedic Association (COA), the Canadian Dental Association (CDA) and the Association of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Disease (AMMI) Canada have reviewed the current best available evidence on the effectiveness of dental antibiotic prophylaxis in the reduction of orthopedic prosthetic joint infections, in the context of the issue of emerging antimicrobial resistance and the critical role of all health care providers to steward appropriate use of antimicrobial drugs.

These professional bodies conclude that:

  1. Most transient bacteremia of oral origin occurs outside of dental procedures.
  2. The significant majority of prosthetic joint infections are not due to organisms found in the mouth.
  3. Few prosthetic joint infections have an observable and clearly defined relationship with dental procedures.
  4. There is no reliable evidence that antibiotic prophylaxis prior to dental procedures prevents prosthetic joint infections.

Recommendations

As a result of this work, the COA, CDA, and AMMI Canada provide the following guidance concerning the management of dental patients with orthopedic devices:

  1. Patients should not be exposed to the adverse effects of antibiotics when there is no evidence that such prophylaxis is of any benefit.
  2. Routine antibiotic prophylaxis is not indicated for dental patients with total joint replacements, nor for patients with orthopedic pins, plates and screws.
  3. Patients should be in optimal oral health prior to having total joint replacement and should maintain good oral hygiene and oral health following surgery. Orofacial infections in all patients, including those with total joint prostheses, should be treated to eliminate the source of infection and prevent its spread.


COA Board of Directors
Approved: June 2016

CDA Board of Directors
Approved: June 2016

AMMI Canada Board of Directors
Approved: July 2016





This information was created by the Canadian Orthopedic Association (COA), the Canadian Dental Association (CDA), and the Association of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Disease (AMMI) Canada. It should not be used as a replacement for professional dental or medical advice. If you have questions about this position statement, please contact the Canadian Dental Association (CDA).

Préambule

L'origine des infections de prothèses articulaires est un sujet controversé pour les dentistes, les médecins et les patients. Les risques d'une bactériémie associée à une intervention dentaire et les risques subséquents qu'un patient ayant un implant orthopédique développe une infection d'une prothèse articulaire suivant une telle bactériémie sont incertains.

Compte tenu de la résistance émergente aux antimicrobiens et du rôle crucial de tous les fournisseurs de soins de santé dans l'usage approprié des médicaments antimicrobiens, l'Association canadienne d'orthopédie (ACO), l'Association dentaire canadienne (ADC) et l'Association pour la microbiologie médicale et l'infectiologie (AMMIC) Canada ont passé en revue les données actuelles les plus solides sur l'efficacité de l'antibioprophylaxie dentaire pour réduire les infections de prothèses orthopédiques articulaires.

Ces organismes professionnels ont conclu que :

  1. La plupart des bactériémies transitoires d'origine buccodentaire se produisent hors des interventions dentaires.
  2. La grande majorité des infections de prothèses articulaires ne sont pas attribuables à des organismes présents dans la bouche.
  3. Peu d'infections de prothèses articulaires ont une association observable et clairement définie avec une intervention dentaire.
  4. Il n'y a aucune donnée probante montrant qu'une antibioprophylaxie administrée avant une intervention dentaire prévient les infections de prothèses articulaires.

Recommandations

En conséquence, l'ACO, l'ADC et l'AMMI offrent les conseils suivants pour la prise en charge de patients ayant un implant orthopédique et nécessitant une intervention dentaire :

  1. Il ne faut pas exposer inutilement les patients aux effets indésirables d'antibiotiques si rien ne montre qu'une prophylaxie serait bénéfique.
  2. L'antibiothérapie prophylactique de routine n'est pas indiquée pour la plupart des patients ayant subi une arthroplastie totale, ni pour les patients porteurs de tiges, de plaques ou de vis orthopédiques.
  3. Le patient doit avoir une santé buccodentaire optimale avant une arthroplastie totale et doit maintenir une bonne hygiène buccale et santé buccodentaire après la chirurgie. De plus, il faut traiter les infections buccofaciales chez tous les patients, y compris ceux ayant subi une arthroplastie totale, afin d'en éliminer le foyer et d'en éviter la propagation.


Conseil d'administration de l'ADC
Version anglaise approuvée: Juin 2016

Conseil d'administration de l'ADC
Version anglaise approuvée: Juin 2016

Conseil d'administration de AMMIC
Version anglaise approuvée: Juillet 2016





L'information donnée ici a été produite par l'Association canadienne d'orthopédie, l'Association dentaire canadienne, et l'Association pour la microbiologie médicale et l'infectiologie (AMMI) Canada, à l'intention des dentistes membres de l'ADC. Elle ne devrait pas remplacer la consultation d'un dentiste ou d'un médecin. Si vous avez des questions au sujet de cet énoncé de position, veuillez communiquer avec l'Association dentaire canadienne.