The Canadian Dental Association supports the appropriate use of fluorides in dentistry as one of the most successful preventive health measures in the history of health care. Over 50 years of extensive research throughout the world has consistently demonstrated the safety and effectiveness of fluorides in the prevention of dental caries.

Fluorides are found naturally throughout the world. They are present to some extent in all food and water so that all humans ingest some fluoride on a daily basis. In addition, fluorides are used by communities as a public health measure to adjust the concentration of fluoride in drinking water to an optimum level (water fluoridation); by individuals in the form of toothpastes, rinses, lozenges, chewable tablets, drops; and by the dental profession in the professional application of gels, foams and varnishes.

The availability of fluorides from a variety of sources must be taken into account before embarking on a specific course of fluoride delivery to either populations or individual patients. This is particularly important for children under the age of six, where exposure to more fluoride than is required to simply prevent dental caries can cause dental fluorosis. Provided that the total daily intake of fluoride is carefully monitored, fluoride is considered to be a most important health measure in maintaining oral health for all Canadians.

CDA recognizes the need to monitor the scientific literature with respect to levels of exposure to fluoride and general health to ensure the continued safe and effective use of fluorides in dentistry.

Water Fluoridation

CDA supports fluoridation of municipal drinking water (at minimum levels required for efficacy as recommended by the Federal-Provincial-Territorial Committee on Drinking Water) as a safe, effective and economical means of preventing dental caries in all age groups. Fluoride levels in the water supplies should be monitored and adjusted to ensure consistency in concentrations and avoid fluctuations.

Communities considering water fluoridation are encouraged to review their individual circumstances carefully and in detail, giving attention to any available data on the dental health of community members, the size of the group not likely exposed to adequate fluoride from other sources, the minimum level of fluoride required to be beneficial, and any other information which would be helpful in making the required value judgment.

CDA recognizes and supports the need for continued research to determine optimal water fluoridation levels that can continue to provide protection from dental caries while reducing potential to contribute to fluorosis.

Fluoridated Toothpastes and Mouth Rinses

CDA recognizes and supports the use of fluoridated toothpastes and mouth rinses in the prevention of dental caries.

Fluoridated toothpastes should be used twice a day to brush teeth. Early commencement of tooth brushing has been associated with lack of colonization by the bacteria that are primarily responsible for cavities.  Because young children tend to swallow toothpaste when they are brushing, which may increase their exposure to fluoride, the following guidelines have been established to moderate their risk of developing dental fluorosis while optimizing the benefits of fluoride.

Children from birth to 3 years of age should have their teeth and gums brushed by an adult. The use of fluoridated toothpaste in this age group is determined by the level of risk. Parents should consult a health professional to determine whether a child up to 3 years of age is at risk of developing tooth decay. If such a risk exists, the child's teeth should be brushed by an adult using a minimal amount (a portion the size of a grain of rice – see figure 1) of fluoridated toothpaste. Use of fluoridated toothpaste in a small amount has been determined to achieve a balance between the benefits of fluoride and the risk of developing fluorosis.  If the child is not considered to be at risk, the teeth should be brushed by an adult using a toothbrush moistened only with water.

Early childhood tooth decay can be painful, may cause infection and is difficult and expensive to treat. Therefore, by a child's first birthday, the parents should consult a health professional knowledgeable in the areas of early childhood tooth decay and the benefits of fluoride. This health professional will help to determine the child's risk of developing tooth decay and whether there would be a benefit of brushing with a minimal amount (a portion the size of a grain of rice) of fluoridated toothpaste before the age of 3 years.

A child may be at risk of early childhood tooth decay if one or more of the following conditions exist:

  • The child lives in an area with a non-fluoridated water supply and low (< 0.3 ppm) natural fluoride levels. (Contact the municipal government to determine if drinking water is fluoridated).
  • The child has a visible defect, notch, cavity or white chalky area on a baby tooth in the front of the mouth.
  • The child regularly consumes sugar (even natural sugars) between meals. This includes use of a bottle or sippy cup filled with any liquid other than water and consumption of sweetened medications.
  • The child has special health care needs that limit his or her cooperative abilities, thus making it difficult for the parent to brush the child's teeth.
  • The child's teeth are brushed less often than once a day.
  • The child was born prematurely with a very low birth weight of less than 1500 grams [3 pounds].
  • The parent or caregiver has tooth decay.
  • The child has visible plaque, such as white or yellow deposits on the teeth.

Children from 3 to 6 years of age should be assisted by an adult in brushing their teeth. Only a small amount (a portion the size of a green pea – see figure 1) of fluoridated toothpaste should be used.

All children should be supervised or assisted until they develop appropriate manual dexterity.

Fluoride mouth rinses are an effective preventive measure for at risk individuals and should be used according to the specific needs of the individual. Fluoride mouth rinsing is not recommended for children under 6 years of age.

Figure 1.  A rice grain sized portion of toothpaste on a child's toothbrush is shown on the left. A pea-sized portion of toothpaste is shown on the right.

Professional Topical Applications of Fluoride Gels, Foams and Varnishes

CDA recognizes and supports the professional topical applications of fluoride gels, foams and varnishes in the prevention of dental caries for individuals at risk.

Fluoride Supplements

Fluoride supplements, in the form of chewable tablets, lozenges or drops, are not recommended for the majority of Canadians. However, health professionals may wish to prescribe fluoride supplements to high risk patients in non-fluoridated communities where individuals are not able to obtain fluoride in any other form (e.g. toothpaste) and after they have completed a thorough analysis of the patient's fluoride intake.

CDA suggests the following guidance in the use of fluoride supplements:

  • Before prescribing fluoride supplements, a thorough clinical examination, dental caries risk assessment and informed consent with patients/caregivers are required.
  • The Canadian Consensus Conference on the Appropriate Use of Fluoride Supplements for the Prevention of Dental Caries in Children, held in November 1997, suggested that high caries risk individuals or groups may include those who do not brush their teeth (or have them brushed) with a fluoridated dentifrice twice a day or those who are assessed as susceptible to high caries activity because of community or family history, etc.
  • The estimations of fluoride exposure from all sources should include the use of fluoridated dentifrice and all home and child care water sources. Health professionals should be aware of the water fluoride content in their area. This information is available from public health agencies. The possible impact of fluoride reducing factors within the home, such as the use of unfluoridated bottled water or some reverse osmosis devices, should be taken into account.
  • Lozenges or chewable tablets are the preferred forms of fluoride supplementation. Drops may be required for individual patients with special needs.
  • The use of fluoride supplements before the eruption of the first permanent tooth is generally not recommended. When, on an individual basis, the benefit of supplemental fluoride outweighs the risk of dental fluorosis, practitioners may elect to use these supplements at appropriate dosages in young children. In doing so, the total daily fluoride intake from all sources should not exceed 0.05-0.07 mg F / kg body weight in order to minimize the risk of dental fluorosis.
  • Following the eruption of the first permanent tooth and the associated decrease in the risk of dental fluorosis at this stage of development, fluoride supplementation in the form of lozenges or chewable tablets may be used to deliver an intra-oral fluoride.

Fluoride Exposure from Multiple Sources

CDA recognizes the availability of fluoride from a variety of sources and the increasing prevalence of dental fluorosis within communities. For this reason, CDA recommends:

  • Patients and the parents of young children are encouraged to give attention to their circumstances and to be aware of their own potential exposure to fluoride (in drinking water from their own wells, for example).
  • Provincial health departments should help to inform both patients and health professionals concerning the fluoridation status of naturally fluoridated drinking water in communities and areas.
  • Parents and caregivers of infants who consume powdered or liquid concentrate infant formula as the main source of nutrition and who reside in areas where the fluoride level in the drinking water is above recommended levels, should consider ready-to-feed formula or powdered or liquid concentrate formula reconstituted with water that is either fluoride free or has a low concentration of fluoride.
  • Parents should supervise the tooth brushing of young children and educate them to use only a pea-sized amount of fluoridated toothpaste on their toothbrush and to minimize swallowing.
  • Health professionals and patients should review a patient's potential exposure to fluoride whenever treatment includes an option for additional exposure.

CDA Board of Directors
Approved: March 2003
Reaffirmed: February 2005
Revised: March 2012

Introduction

L'Association dentaire canadienne appuie l'utilisation judicieuse des fluorures en dentisterie comme l'une des mesures préventives les plus efficaces dans l'histoire des soins de santé. Plus de 50 années de recherches approfondies menées dans le monde ont  démontré immanquablement la sécurité et l'efficacité des fluorures pour la prévention de la carie dentaire.

On retrouve les fluorures à l'état naturel partout dans le monde. Ils sont, dans une certaine mesure, présents dans tous les aliments et dans l'eau, de sorte que tous les êtres humains en ingèrent une certaine quantité chaque jour. De plus, les collectivités adoptent des mesures de santé publique qui consistent à ajuster la teneur en fluorure de l'eau potable à un niveau optimal (fluoruration de l'eau); les individus utilisent le fluorure sous forme de dentifrices, de rince-bouche, de pastilles, de comprimés à croquer et de gouttes; et les professionnels dentaires l'appliquent sous forme de gels, de mousses et de vernis.

Il faut tenir compte de la disponibilité des fluorures de différentes sources avant d'entreprendre une mesure spécifique de distribution des fluorures chez les populations ou les patients individuels. Cela est particulièrement important pour les enfants de moins de six ans chez qui une exposition au fluorure supérieure à la dose requise pour simplement prévenir la carie peut entraîner la fluorose dentaire. Dans la mesure où l'on surveille attentivement l'ingestion quotidienne totale, l'utilisation du fluorure demeure une des mesures les plus importantes pour le maintien de la santé buccodentaire de tous les Canadiens.

L'ADC reconnaît la nécessité de suivre de près la littérature scientifique sur les degrés d'exposition au fluorure et sur la santé en général, pour veiller à la continuité de son utilisation sûre et efficace en dentisterie.

La fluoruration de l'eau

L'ADC appuie la fluoruration de l'eau des municipalités (aux taux minimaux requis pour être efficaces, recommandés par le Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial sur l'eau potable) comme méthode sûre, efficace et économique de prévenir la carie dentaire dans tous les groupes d'âge. On devrait contrôler et ajuster les taux de fluorure des sources d'alimentation en eau afin de maintenir des taux constants et d'éviter les fluctuations.

On encourage les collectivités qui envisagent la fluoruration de l'eau à étudier soigneusement et en détail leurs situations particulières, en tenant compte de toutes données disponibles sur la santé buccodentaire de leurs citoyens, de la taille du groupe qui n'est vraisemblablement pas exposé à des taux appropriés de fluorure en provenance d'autres sources, du taux minimal de fluorure requis pour être bénéfique et de toute autre information utile pour prendre une décision éclairée.

L'ADC reconnaît et appuie la nécessité de poursuivre les recherches, afin de déterminer les taux optimaux de fluoruration de l'eau qui peuvent continuer à offrir une protection contre la carie tout en réduisant les risques de fluorose.

Les dentifrices et les rince-bouche fluorurés

L'ADC approuve l'utilisation des dentifrices et des rince-bouche fluorurés pour la prévention de la carie dentaire.

Un dentifrice fluoruré devrait être utilisé deux fois par jour pour le brossage des dents. Il a été démontré que de commencer à se brosser les dents tôt durant l'enfance est associé à une diminution de la colonisation par les bactéries principalement responsables de la carie dentaire. Cependant, comme les jeunes enfants ont tendance à avaler le dentifrice lorsqu'ils se brossent les dents et que ceci risque de les exposer à une plus grande quantité de fluorure, les lignes directrices suivantes ont été élaborées pour réduire le risque de fluorose dentaire tout en optimisant les bienfaits du fluorure.

Chez les enfants de zéro à trois ans, le brossage des dents et des gencives devrait être fait par un adulte. Dans ce groupe d'âge, l'usage de dentifrices fluorurés sera déterminé en fonction du niveau de risque. À cette fin, les parents devraient consulter un professionnel de la santé pour déterminer si l'enfant de moins de trois ans présente un risque de carie dentaire. Si un tel risque existe, les dents de l'enfant devraient être brossées par un adulte en utilisant une très faible quantité de dentifrice fluoruré (quantité correspondant à la taille d'un grain de riz – voir l'illustration 1). Il a été établi que l'utilisation d'une faible quantité de dentifrice fluoruré permet d'atteindre un équilibre entre les bienfaits du fluorure et le risque de fluorose. Si on ne considère pas que l'enfant est à risque, les dents devraient être brossées par un adulte, uniquement avec une brosse à dents et de l'eau.

La carie de la petite enfance peut être douloureuse et causer des infections et son traitement est difficile et onéreux. Les parents devraient donc consulter un professionnel de la santé qui connaît bien la carie de la petite enfance et les bienfaits du fluorure avant que l'enfant ait un an. Ce professionnel aidera à déterminer le risque de caries chez l'enfant et les avantages qu'il y aurait à utiliser une très faible quantité (de la taille d'un grain de riz) de dentifrice fluoruré avant l'âge de trois ans.

Un enfant peut présenter des risques de carie de la petite enfance si une ou plusieurs des conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • L'enfant vit dans une région où l'eau potable n'est pas fluorurée et où les niveaux naturels de fluorure sont faibles (< 0,3 ppm). (Communiquer avec l'administration municipale pour savoir si l'eau potable est fluorurée.)
  • L'enfant présente une lésion, une rainure, une carie ou une zone crayeuse blanche visible sur une dent primaire à l'avant de la bouche.
  • L'enfant consomme régulièrement du sucre (même des sucres naturels) entre les repas. Ceci inclut tout liquide autre que l'eau pris dans un biberon ou une tasse à bec, ainsi que la consommation de médicaments édulcorés.
  • L'enfant a des besoins spéciaux en matière de soins de santé qui limitent sa capacité de collaborer et qui font en sorte qu'il est difficile pour les parents de lui brosser les dents.
  • Les dents de l'enfant sont brossées moins d'une fois par jour.
  • L'enfant est né prématurément et son poids à la naissance était très faible [moins de 1 500 g ou 3 lb].
  • Le parent de l'enfant ou la personne qui s'en occupe a des caries dentaires.
  • L'enfant présente des signes visibles de plaque, par exemple des dépôts blancs ou jaunes sur les dents.

Les enfants de trois à six ans devraient se brosser les dents avec l'aide d'un adulte et n'utiliser qu'une faible quantité (portion de la taille d'un pois vert – voir l'illustration) de dentifrice fluoruré.

Les enfants doivent être aidés ou surveillés lorsqu'ils se brossent les dents, et ce, jusqu'à ce qu'ils développent les aptitudes manuelles adéquates.

Les rince-bouche fluorurés constituent une mesure préventive efficace pour les personnes à risque et ils devraient être utilisés selon les besoins particuliers de chaque personne. Ils sont contre-indiqués chez les enfants de moins de 6 ans.


Illustration 1. La quantité équivalente à la «taille d'un grain de riz» de dentifrice sur la surface de la brosse à dent de l'enfant est montrée à gauche. La quantité équivalente à la «taille d'un pois» est montrée à droite.

Application topique de fluorure par des professionnels sous forme de gels, de mousses et de vernis

L'ADC approuve l'application topique de fluorure par des professionnels sous forme de gels, de mousses et de vernis pour la prévention de la carie dentaire chez les personnes à risque.

Les suppléments fluorurés

Les suppléments fluorurés, offerts sous forme de comprimés à croquer, de pastilles ou de gouttes, ne sont pas requis chez la plupart des Canadiens. Par contre, les professionnels de la santé pourraient prescrire des suppléments fluorurés aux patients à risque élevé de carie dentaire qui demeurent dans des régions où l'eau n'est pas fluorurée et où les personnes ne peuvent  recevoir des quantités appropriées de fluorure d'autres sources (p.ex. le dentifrice) et ce, seulement après qu'ils ont fait une analyse complète de la quantité de fluorure ingérée par le patient.

L'ADC recommande les mesures suivantes pour l'utilisation des suppléments fluorurés :

  • Avant de prescrire des suppléments fluorurés, il est nécessaire de procéder à un examen clinique complet, d'évaluer le risque de carie dentaire et d'obtenir le consentement éclairé des patients ou des aidants (fournisseurs de soins).
  • Lors de la Conférence consensuelle canadienne sur l'utilisation judicieuse des suppléments fluorurés pour la prévention de la carie chez les enfants tenue en novembre 1997, on a suggéré que les personnes ou les groupes présentant un risque élevé de carie dentaire pouvaient comprendre les personnes qui ne se brossent pas les dents (ou qui ne se font pas brosser les dents) avec un dentifrice fluoruré deux fois par jour et celles qui sont prédisposées à une forte activité carieuse en raison de leurs antécédents collectifs ou familiaux, etc.
  • Les estimations de l'exposition aux fluorures de toutes sources confondues devraient tenir compte de l'utilisation des dentifrices fluorurés et de toutes les sources d'eau à la maison et à la garderie. Les professionnels de la santé devraient connaître la teneur en fluorure de l'eau de leur région. Cette information est disponible auprès des bureaux de santé publique. On devrait tenir compte des effets de certains facteurs domestiques de réduction de la fluoruration, comme la consommation d'eau embouteillée non fluorurée et l'utilisation de dispositifs de filtration par osmose inversée.
  • Les pastilles ou les comprimés à croquer sont les formes de suppléments fluorurés préférés. Les gouttes peuvent être requises chez les personnes ayant des besoins particuliers.
  • La prise de suppléments fluorurés avant l'éruption de la première dent permanente est généralement contre-indiquée. Si, selon la personne, les bienfaits des suppléments fluorurés surpassent les risques de fluorose, le praticien peut les prescrire à une posologie appropriée pour les jeunes enfants. Le cas échéant, l'ingestion quotidienne totale de fluorure de toutes sources confondues ne devrait pas dépasser 0,05 à 0,07 mg F / kg de poids corporel afin de minimiser les risques de fluorose dentaire.
  • Après l'éruption de la première dent permanente et avec la diminution du risque de fluorose que comporte cette étape du développement, on peut prescrire des suppléments fluorurés sous forme de pastilles ou de comprimés à croquer pour procurer la dose de fluorure intra-buccale requise.

L'exposition au fluorure de plusieurs sources

L'ADC reconnaît que le fluorure provient de plusieurs sources et que le taux d'incidence de la fluorose augmente dans les collectivités. C'est pourquoi, elle formule les recommandations suivantes :

  • Les patients et les parents de jeunes enfants devraient porter attention à leurs situations particulières et être conscients de leur propre exposition potentielle au fluorure (dans l'eau potable de leur propre puits, par exemple).
  • Les ministères de la Santé des provinces devraient aider à informer les patients et les professionnels de la santé sur l'état de la fluoruration des eaux potables naturellement fluorurées dans les collectivités et les régions.
  • Lorsque l'alimentaire d'un enfant se compose principalement de préparations pour nourrissons sous forme de concentré (poudre ou liquide), les parents et tuteurs devraient considérer reconstituer les préparations avec de l'eau qui ne contient pas de fluorure ou qui en contient une faible concentration, s'ils résidents là ou les niveaux de fluorure dans l'eau potable excèdent les niveaux recommandés.
  • Les parents devraient superviser le brossage des dents des jeunes enfants et leur apprendre à n'utiliser qu'une petite quantité (la taille d'un pois) de dentifrice fluoruré et à ne pas trop avaler de dentifrice.
  • Le professionnel de la santé devrait examiner l'exposition au fluorure potentielle du patient chaque fois qu'un traitement peut comprendre une exposition supplémentaire.

Conseil d'administration de l'ADC
Version anglaise approuvée : mars 2003
Réaffirmée : février 2005
Révisée : mars 2012