Preamble

The safety and effectiveness of any restorative filling material is important to both patients and dentists. This position statement addresses the ongoing concerns, raised by some members of the public and the profession, related to possible adverse health effects of dental amalgam due to its mercury content. Recent scientific reviews and analysis of the safety of dental amalgam show that such concern is unfounded.1,2

Position

Current scientific evidence on the use of dental amalgam supports that amalgam is an effective and safe filling material that provides a long-lasting solution for a broad range of clinical situations. Dental amalgam delivers benefits over other filling materials with respect to ease of use and longevity, especially in patients with a high risk of tooth decay.

CDA has established its position based on the current consensus of scientific and clinical experts and on recent extensive reviews of strong evidence by major North American and international organizations, which have satisfactorily countered any safety concerns. A recent high-level analysis conducted by the US Food and Drug Administration determined that the low level of mercury exposure from dental amalgam fillings is well below levels associated with adverse health effects in humans, including sensitive populations.1

It is considered unnecessary and ill-advised to replace functional or serviceable dental amalgam fillings (restorations) for safety concerns or perceived health needs. A conservative approach to filling replacement, combined with effective decay prevention, is strongly advised to help maintain the dentition over a lifetime.

Dentists have the responsibility to ensure that any recommended treatments reflect the ethical and quality-of-care standards of the profession and that informed consent has been obtained. The specific clinical circumstances and facts should be discussed by dentists with their patients, allowing the most appropriate material for the particular clinical situation to be selected. Patients who request replacement of serviceable restorations need to be provided with sufficient information to understand the implications of their decision.

References

  1. White Paper: FDA Update/Review of potential adverse health risks associated with exposure to mercury in dental amalgam. National Center for Toxicological Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA White Paper (2006) and Addendum (2009)
  2. Nicolae A, Ames H, Quinonez, C. Dental amalgam and urinary mercury concentrations: a descriptive study. BMC Oral Health 2013, 13:44 doi:10.1186/1472-6831-13-44

CDA Board of Directors
Approved: February 2005
Revised: March 2014

Préambule

Tant pour les patients que les dentistes se soucient de l'innocuité et de l'efficacité des matériaux d'obturation. Le présent énoncé de position répond aux préoccupations courantes de certains membres du public et de la profession entourant les éventuels effets nocifs sur la santé de l'amalgame dentaire contenant du mercure. Des examens scientifiques récents de l'innocuité de l'amalgame dentaire montrent que ces craintes ne sont pas fondées1,2.

Position

Les données scientifiques actuelles sur l'amalgame dentaire indiquent qu'il est efficace et sans danger et qu'il constitue une solution durable pour toute une série de troubles cliniques. Il présente des avantages sur les autres matériaux d'obturation par sa facilité d'utilisation et sa durabilité, laquelle s'avère des plus intéressantes chez les patients présentant un risque élevé de développer des caries.

L'ADC a pris position en fonction du consensus actuel qui règne chez les scientifiques et les cliniciens et des récents examens en profondeur de données solides en provenance de grands organismes nord-américains et internationaux, qui ont dissipé toutes les craintes entourant l'innocuité. Une analyse poussée de la Food and Drug Administration a montré récemment que le faible taux d'exposition au mercure contenu dans l'amalgame dentaire se situe largement sous le niveau associé à des effets nocifs pour la santé humaine, y compris chez les populations sensibles1.

Il est jugé inutile et mal avisé de remplacer un amalgame dentaire en bon état pour des doutes sur son innocuité ou d'éventuelles raisons de santé. Il est fortement recommandé d'adopter une approche conservatrice à l'égard du remplacement d'une obturation, jumelée à une stratégie efficace de prévention de la carie, pour aider à maintenir la dentition tout au long de la vie.

Il incombe aux dentistes de veiller à ce que les traitements recommandés reflètent les normes éthiques et les nomes de qualité des soins établies par la profession, ainsi qu'à obtenir un consentement éclairé. Les dentistes doivent discuter avec leurs patients des circonstances particulières de leur cas et leur présenter les faits ainsi que les matériaux les mieux adaptés à leur situation clinique. Ils doivent informer adéquatement les patients des conséquences d'une demande de remplacement d'une obturation.

Références

  1. White Paper: FDA Update/Review of potential adverse health risks associated with exposure to mercury in dental amalgam. National Center for Toxicological Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA White Paper (2006) and Addendum (2009): www.fda.gov/MedicalDevices/ProductsandMedicalProcedures/DentalProducts/DentalAmalgam/ucm171117.htm
  2. Nicolae A, Ames H, Quinonez, C. Dental amalgam and urinary mercury concentrations: a descriptive study. BMC Oral Health 2013, 13:44 doi:10.1186/1472-6831-13-44: http://www.biomedcentral.com/1472-6831/13/44

Conseil d'administration de l'ADC
Version anglaise approuvée: février 2005
Révisée: Mars 2014