Students applying to American dental schools are requested to send their Canadian DAT (CDAT) scores directly to the dental schools of their choice, as AADSAS does not relay CDAT scores to dental schools.

All inquiries concerning the utilization of the DAT test results in the admissions process should be directed to the individual faculties of dentistry. The DAT Office cannot supply you with this information.

It takes 8 weeks from the testing date for the DAT  results to be processed and available for dental school distribution. In general, because of the significant number of applicants applying to dental schools, candidates are encouraged to participate in the November test session of the year preceding application to dental school(s).

Approximately eight weeks following the DAT, you will receive an email indicating that a personal copy of your DAT transcript is available for download. This transcript is your personal copy and is not to be sent or taken to dental schools.  It is highly recommended that you save and or make a copy of your transcript for any future reference. This free copy is available for download only for a period of 3 months after the test date, after which a fee will be charged should you require a personal copy of your transcript.

The results of the DAT are the property of CDA and may be used as part of a national validation study of the DAT. Individual test results will not be released without specific written authorization by the test subject. Test results are kept on file indefinitely.

Scoring of Examinations

DAT scores for the written portion of the test are based on the number of correct answers. There is no penalty for wrong answers.

The Manual Dexterity Test is evaluated in 4 areas. Each carved pattern is evaluated for:

  1. Pattern reproduction – completeness and accuracy
  2. Planes – flatness and smoothness
  3. Angles – sharpness and accuracy
  4. Sectional relationship – symmetry and orientation

For each of the four areas, a criterion-referenced 4–point (0–3) scale is used to grade each carved pattern.

A carving must be two-thirds complete to be graded, and the design must be two-thirds correct to be graded. A carving that is incomplete or is an incorrect pattern will be penalized.

The results are reported to dental schools in terms of standard scores rather than raw scores. Through the use of standard scores, it is possible to compare the performance of one candidate with the performance of all candidates. The standard scores used in the testing program range from 1 to 30. While there are no strict passing or failing scores, the standard score of 15 signifies average performance on a national basis. The standard score is based on the underlying ability distribution and can be interpreted as norm referenced or criterion referenced.

A detailed explanation of the test scores is forwarded to all candidates with the student copy of the official transcript.

Verification of DAT Scores

All written portions of the DAT exam are computer-graded. A candidate who has concerns about the accuracy of the reporting process for the written portion of the DAT, despite all the control mechanisms implemented by the DAT Program, may submit a request for an administrative verification of his or her scores. A candidate who is concerned about the mechanical scoring process itself may also submit a request to have the written portion of the DAT re-graded manually to verify the accuracy of the computer-generated score.

The carving score will be manually verified for clerical and recording accuracy. A grading committee of dental faculty members evaluates all carvings. In light of the extensive reviews that have already been done during the grading of the carvings, requests to re-grade carvings will not be considered.

A request for a review and verification of test results must be accompanied by the administration fees which are set out in the DAT Fees section. A request for a verification of test scores must be provided in writing to the DAT Office within 6 months of the date on which the candidate wrote the DAT.

Rewriting the Test

Applicants are allowed to participate in the DAT Program an unlimited number of times. However, only the results of the last attempt and the total number of attempts will be reported on the official DAT transcript. Applicants who want the results of a previous DAT sent to one or more faculties of dentistry must make such a request online.

Suggestions to Applicants

Applicants are advised to practise to improve their carving skill. The information provided in the DAT Preparation Kit should allow adequate preparation for the test.

Applicants who are not accepted by a dental school are urged to review their ability and type of previous training in order to determine, to their satisfaction, whether they should continue planning on a career in dentistry, or whether they should consider making plans to enter a different profession or vocation.

Applicants are encouraged to consult with the counsellors and guidance officers in the university or college they are attending to gain counselling that may reveal more appropriate occupational areas for consideration.

http://www.cda-adc.ca/en/becoming/dat/rules_notice_form/

les étudiants qui appliquent à des écoles de médecine dentaire américaines doivent envoyer directement leurs résultats du TAED (version canadienne) aux écoles de leur choix, car l'AADSAS n'est pas responsable de relayer cette information aux écoles.

Pour toute demande concernant l'utilisation des résultats du TAED dans le processus d'admission, les candidats doivent se renseigner directement auprès de la faculté concernée. Le bureau du TAED ne peut vous fournir cette information.

En général, à cause du grand nombre de candidats inscrits au TAED, les résultats ne sont disponibles que 8 semaines après la date des examens. Les candidats sont donc invités à se présenter à l'examen de novembre dans l'année qui précède celle où ils prévoient s'inscrire à un programme de médecine dentaire.

Environ huit semaines après la tenue du TAED, vous recevrez un courriel vous indiquant qu'une copie de votre relevé de notes du TAED est disponible pour téléchargement. Ce relevé de notes est votre copie personnelle et il ne doit pas être envoyé ni apporté à une faculté de médecine dentaire quelconque. Il est fortement recommandé que vous sauvegardiez ce relevé ou que vous en fassiez une copie pour consultation future. Vous pourrez procéder au téléchargement gratuit de cette copie durant une période de trois mois seulement après la date de l'examen. Après cette date, des frais seront exigés si vous désirez obtenir une copie personnelle de votre relevé de notes.

Les résultats du TAED sont la propriété de l'ADC et peuvent servir à des études nationales de validation du TAED. Ces résultats sont conservés indéfiniment mais sont uniquement divulgués sur autorisation écrite du candidat.

Notation

La notation de la partie écrite du test repose sur le nombre de bonnes réponses. Il n'y a pas de pénalité pour les mauvaises réponses.

Le test de dextérité manuelle est évalué suivant 4 catégories. Chaque modèle sculpté est évalué de la manière suivante :

  1. Reproduction du modèle – exacte et complète
  2. Surfaces – lisses et planes
  3. Angles – nets et précis
  4. Rapport des parties – symétrie et orientation

Pour chacune de ces 4 catégories, une échelle à 4 points (0-3) est utilisée pour noter chaque modèle sculpté.

Un modèle sculpté doit être exécuté aux deux tiers et sa forme doit être correcte aux deux tiers pour pouvoir être noté sur les deux plans. Un modèle sculpté de façon incomplète ou dont la forme est incorrecte perdra des points.

Les résultats sont transmis aux facultés de médecine dentaire sous forme de notes normalisées plutôt que brutes, ce qui permet de comparer le rendement d'un candidat par rapport aux autres. Les notes normalisées varient de 1 à 30. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de note de passage ou d'échec, la note normalisée de 15 signifie un rendement moyen à l'échelle nationale. La note normalisée est fondée sur la répartition de la capacité foncière et peut être interprétée comme une norme normative ou critérielle.

Une explication détaillée du système de notation est jointe aux résultats envoyés aux candidats.

Vérification des résultats du TAED

La notation de la partie écrite du TAED est faite par ordinateur. Les candidats inquiets de l'exactitude de la transcription des résultats de la partie écrite du TAED, et ce malgré tous les mécanismes de contrôle mis en place par le Programme du TAED, peuvent soumettre une demande de vérification administrative de leurs résultats. Les candidats inquiets du processus de notation mécanique peuvent également soumettre une demande de renotation manuelle de la partie écrite du TAED, afin de vérifier l'exactitude des résultats générés par ordinateur.

Pour le test de sculpture, la vérification se fera manuellement au niveau de la transcription et de l'administration. Les sculptures sont notées par un comité composé de membres des facultés de médecine dentaire. Comme la notation du test de sculpture comporte déjà des vérifications multiples, les demandes de renotation ne seront pas acceptées.

Des frais d'administration (voir la section Frais) doivent accompagner toute demande de vérification et de renotation. Toute demande de vérification des résultats du TAED doit être adressée par écrit au bureau du TAED dans les 6 mois suivant la date où le candidat a passé le test.

Reprises

Les candidats peuvent passer l'examen aussi souvent qu'ils le désirent. Cependant, seuls les résultats du dernier examen et le nombre total d'examens seront indiqués sur le relevé officiel du TAED. Les candidats qui désirent que les résultats d'un TAED précédent soient transmis à une ou à des facultés de médecine dentaire doivent en faire la demande en ligne.

Conseils pratiques

On recommande aux candidats de s'exercer à la sculpture pour accroître leur dextérité manuelle. Les renseignements fournis à cette intention dans la trousse de préparation constituent généralement une préparation suffisante.

Les candidats qui se voient refuser l'admission à un programme de médecine dentaire sont invités à évaluer de nouveau leurs aptitudes et à revoir leur formation, afin de déterminer par eux-mêmes s'ils devraient chercher à poursuivre une carrière en médecine dentaire ou s'ils devraient s'orienter vers une autre voie.

L'avis d'un conseiller ou d'un agent d'orientation de leur université ou collège pourrait leur être utile pour trouver le métier ou la profession convenant le mieux à leurs aptitudes.