Dental Aptitude Test Program

The Dental Aptitude Test (DAT) Program is conducted by the Canadian Dental Association (CDA), in coordination with the American Dental Association, and has been in operation on a national basis since 1966.

As a dental school applicant, you are encouraged to participate in the DAT well in advance of applying to dental school. Ideally, you should take the DAT exam at least one year before entering dental school.

Submission of DAT scores is an admission requirement of most of the 10 Canadian dental schools, though not all the schools require results from the Manual Dexterity Test. Canadian DAT scores are accepted by most U.S. dental schools, but because the U.S. DAT does not include a manual dexterity component, results of the U.S. DAT cannot be used for admission to Canadian dental schools. For exceptional circumstances, contact the dental school regarding their possible acceptance of U.S. DAT scores.

Examinations are held twice a year, in November and February, at various test centres across Canada. The testing program is designed to evaluate general academic ability, comprehension of scientific information, two- and three-dimensional visual perception and manual dexterity.

While all Canadian dental schools require applicants to submit DAT scores as part of the admission process, the test results are only one factor considered in evaluating the admission potential of an applicant. The relative importance of DAT scores in evaluating the admission potential of an applicant is determined by each dental school and is not regulated by the DAT Program.

Registration for the DAT is not an application to dental school. Information on admission requirements of individual dental schools must be obtained directly from each dental school.

DAT regulations, guidelines and fees are subject to change without notice.

Information for Dental School Applicants

Pre-Dental School Requirements

To complete an application for entry to a dental school, contact the school(s) of your choice directly and return the completed application according to the instructions given by the school(s) you are applying to.

There are certain basic pre-dental education courses that must be completed before enrolment in dental school. Since these requirements vary from school to school, it is essential that applicants contact the appropriate school(s) to determine specific admission requirements. Contact information for Canadian dental schools is listed on its own page.

Scope of the DAT

SCOPE OF DENTAL APTITUDE TEST  (DAT)
Component Number of Questions Time allotted
Manual Dexterity Test (MDT) N/A 30 minutes
Survey of Natural Sciences (SNS) 70 questions ( Biology 1-40 chemistry 41-70) 60 minutes
Perceptual Ability Test  (PAT) 90 questions 60 minutes
Reading Comprehension Test (RCT) 50 questions 50 minutes

There are 4 examinations included in the English DAT and 3 examinations included in the French DAT. The tests are administered over one half (½) day and include:

1. Manual Dexterity Test - 30 minutes

Carving a specified model out of a cylindrical bar of soap specially made for the DAT.

*Please note that not all Canadian dental schools use the Manual Dexterity Test (MDT) as part of their admission requirements. It is your responsibility to verify the admission requirements of dental schools that you are interested in applying to and to understand each school's admission requirements. Students who plan to apply to more than one school should strongly consider taking the MDT.

2. Survey of Natural Sciences - 60 minutes

Biology - origin of life; cell metabolism (including photosynthesis); enzymology; cellular processes; thermodynamics; organelle structure and function; mitosis/meiosis; biological organization and relationship of major taxa (using the five-kingdom system: monera, planti; anamalia; protista; fungi); Vertebrate Anatomy and Physiology - structure and function of vertebrate systems (integumentary, skeletal, muscular, circulatory, immunological, digestive, respiratory, urinary, nervous/senses, endocrine, and reproductive); Developmental Biology - fertilization, descriptive embryology, and developmental mechanisms; Genetics: molecular genetics; human genetics; classical genetics; Chromosomal genetics; Evaluation, Ecology, and Behaviour: natural selection; population genetics/speciation; cladistics; population and community ecology; ecosystems; animal behaviour (including social).

General Chemistry – Stoichiometry and General Concepts (percent composition; empirical formulae; balancing equations; moles and molecular formulas; molecular formula weights; molar mass; density; calculations from balanced equations; gases (kinetic molecular theory of gases; Dalton's, Boyle's, Charles', and ideal gas laws); liquids and solids; (intermolecular forces; phase changes; vapour pressure; structures; polarity; properties); Solutions (polarity; properties; colligative; non-colligative; forces; concentration calculations) Acids and Bases (pH; strength; BrØnsted-Lowry reactions; calculations) Chemical Equilibria (molecular; acid/base; precipitation; calculations; Le Chatelier's principle); Thermodynamics and Thermochemistry (law of thermodynamics; Hess's law; spontaneity; enthalpies and entropies; heat transfer) Chemical Kinetics (rate laws; activation energy; half-life) Oxidation-Reduction Reactions (balancing equations; determination of oxidation numbers; electrochemical calculations; electrochemical concepts and terminology) Atomic and Molecular Structure (electron configuration; orbital types; Lewis-Dot diagrams; atomic theory; quantum theory; molecular geometry; bond types; sub-atomic particles) Periodic Properties (representative elements; transition elements; periodic trends; descriptive chemistry) Nuclear Reactions (balancing equations; binding energy; decay processes; particles; terminology) Laboratory (basic techniques; equipment; error analysis; safety; data analysis)

3. Perceptual Ability - 60 minutes

The Perceptual Ability Test is comprised of six subtests: 1) apertures, 2) view recognition, 3) angle discrimination, 4) paper folding, 5) cube counting, and 6) 3D form development.

4. Reading Comprehension (English DAT only) - 50 minutes

Consists of 3 reading passages. Ability to read, organize, analyze and remember new information in dental and basic sciences. Ability to comprehend thoroughly when studying scientific information. Reading materials are typical of materials encountered in the first year of dental school and require no prior knowledge of the topic other than a basic undergraduate preparation in science.

The English- and French-language examinations require approximately 5 and 4 hours respectively, with no formal lunch break. However, stretch breaks will be provided.

http://www.cda-adc.ca/en/becoming/dat/information/registration/default.asp

Programme du Test d'aptitude aux études dentaires

Le Programme du Test d'aptitude aux études dentaires (TAED), administré par l'Association dentaire canadienne (ADC) en collaboration avec l'Association dentaire américaine, existe à l'échelle nationale depuis 1966.

On vous conseille de participer au TAED bien avant d'envoyer votre demande d'admission à une faculté de médecine dentaire. Idéalement, vous devriez passer le TAED au moins un an avant de commencer votre programme d'études dentaires.

La soumission des résultats du TAED est un critère d'admission dans la plupart des 10 facultés de médecine dentaire canadiennes, mais ce ne sont pas toutes les facultés qui exigent les résultats du test de dextérité manuelle. Les résultats du TAED canadien sont acceptés par la plupart des facultés de médecine dentaire américaines mais, comme le TAED américain ne comprend pas d'épreuve de dextérité manuelle, les résultats du TAED américain ne peuvent pas servir de critère d'admission pour les facultés de médecine dentaire canadiennes. Pour les cas exceptionnels, veuillez communiquer avec la faculté de médecine dentaire pour savoir si elle accepterait les résultats du TAED américain.

Les examens ont lieu deux fois par année, en novembre et en février, dans différents centres d'examen du pays. Le test permet d'évaluer les aptitudes scolaires générales, la compréhension des données scientifiques, la perception visuelle en deux et trois dimensions et la dextérité manuelle des candidats.

Bien que toutes les facultés de médecine dentaire au Canada demandent aux candidats à l'admission de soumettre leurs résultats du TAED, ces résultats ne sont qu'un des facteurs pris en considération lors de l'évaluation du potentiel d'un candidat. L'importance relative des résultats du TAED dans l'évaluation du candidat à l'admission est déterminée par chacune des facultés de médecine dentaire et n'est pas réglementée par le Programme du TAED.

L'inscription au TAED ne constitue pas une demande d'admission à une faculté de médecine dentaire. Toute demande de renseignements au sujet des critères d'admission doit se faire directement auprès de chaque faculté de médecine dentaire.

Les règlements, les directives et les frais du TAED peuvent changer sans préavis.

Renseignements à l'intention des candidats à une faculté de médecine dentaire

Conditions d'admission aux études dentaires

Pour remplir une demande d'admission à une faculté de médecine dentaire, communiquez avec la ou les facultés de votre choix directement, puis renvoyez-leur votre formulaire rempli en suivant les instructions qu'elles vous auront données.

Il faut avoir terminé certains cours de base pour s'inscrire à une faculté de médecine dentaire. Comme les exigences varient selon les facultés, les candidats doivent se renseigner auprès de celles-ci pour connaître leurs conditions d'admission respectives. Les coordonnées des facultés de médecine dentaire du Canada figurent sur une page séparée.

Portée du TAED

PORTÉE DU TAED
Partie Nombre de questions Durée
Test de Dextérité Manuel  (TDM) N/A 30 minutes
Test des Sciences Naturelles (TSN) 70  questions  ( biologie 1-40 chimie  41-70) 60 minutes
Test d' Ability Perceptuelle (THP) 90  questions 60 minutes

Le TAED comprend 4 parties pour le test en anglais et 3 parties pour le test en français, et dure une demi-journée. En voici les éléments :

1. Test de dextérité manuelle – 30 minutes

Sculpture d'un modèle précis dans un pain cylindrique de savon spécialement conçu aux fins du TAED.

Veuillez noter que ce ne sont pas toutes les facultés de médecine dentaire du Canada qui incluent le test de dextérité manuelle (TDM) dans leurs conditions d'admission. Il incombe à chaque candidat de vérifier et de comprendre les critères d'admission des facultés de médecine dentaire auxquelles le candidat souhaite présenter une demande d'admission. Les étudiants qui présentent leur candidature à plus d'une faculté sont fortement encouragés à passer ce test.

2. Examen en sciences naturelles – 60 minutes

Biologie - La matière comprend : origine de la vie; métabolisme cellulaire (y compris la photosynthèse); enzymologie; processus cellulaires; thermodynamique; structure et fonction des organites; mitose et méiose; taxonomie (selon le système des cinq règnes : protiste, monera, champignons, règnes animal et végétal, etc.); anatomie et physiologie des vertébrés : structure et fonction des systèmes tégumentaire, squelettique, musculaire, circulatoire, immunologique, digestif, respiratoire, urinaire, nerveux, endocrinien et le système de reproduction; biologie du développement : fécondation, embryologie descriptive et mécanique du développement; génétique : moléculaire, humaine, classique et chromosomique; évaluation, écologie et science du comportement : sélection naturelle, génétique des populations et spéciation, écologie des populations et des collectivités; écosystèmes et comportement animal (y compris le comportement social).

Chimie générale - La matière porte sur : stœchiométrie et concepts généraux de composition centésimale, de formule brute; équations en équilibre; formules moléculaires et molécule-gramme, poids moléculaire, masse moléculaire, densité; théorie cinétique des gaz, loi du gaz idéal et lois de Dalton, de Boyle-Mariotte et de Charles; liquides et solides : les forces intermoléculaires, changements de phases, tension de vapeur, structures, polarité, propriétés; solutions : polarité, propriétés colligatives ou non-colligatives; les forces; calcul des concentrations; acides et bases : le pH, la concentration, réactions de BrØnsted-Lowry; équilibre chimique : moléculaire, acido-basique, précipitation, calculs, principe de LeChatelier; thermodynamique et thermochimie : loi de la thermodynamique, loi de Hess, spontanéité, enthalpie et entropie, transfert de chaleur; cinétique chimique : loi des proportions, énergie d'activation, demi-vie; réactions d'oxydoréduction : équations d'équilibre, calcul de l'indice d'oxydation, terminologie, notions et calculs électrochimiques; structure moléculaire et atomique : configuration des électrons, types d'orbitales, diagrammes de Lewis-Dot, théorie atomique, théorie des quanta, géométrie moléculaire, types de liens, particules subatomiques; propriétés périodiques des éléments : éléments représentatifs, éléments de transition, évolutions, chimie descriptive; réactions nucléaires : équations d'équilibre, énergie de liaison, processus d'altération, particules, terminologie; laboratoire : techniques de base, matériel, analyse des erreurs; sécurité et analyse des données.

3. Test de perception – 60 minutes

Le Test d'habileté perceptuelle comporte six sous-tests : 1) ouvertures, 2) identification de prises de vue, 3) distinction des angles, 4) pliage de papier, 5) comptage de cubes, 6) développement de formes tridimensionnelles.

4. Test de compréhension écrite (candidats anglophones seulement) – 50 minutes

Le test comporte 3 textes. Capacité de lire, d'organiser, d'analyser et de mémoriser de nouvelles connaissances en sciences de base et en sciences dentaires. Capacité de bien comprendre des données scientifiques. Le matériel à lire représente celui que l'on trouve typiquement en première année de médecine dentaire et ne demande pas d'autres connaissances que celles acquises au cours des années pré-universitaires.

Les épreuves durent environ 5 heures en anglais et 4 heures en français. Il n'y a pas de pause pour le dîner, seulement quelques pauses de détente.