Dental Aptitude Test

The Dental Aptitude Test (DAT) Program is conducted by the Canadian Dental Association (CDA) to help students assess their aptitude for a career in dentistry and to assist dental schools in selecting first-year students.

The English DAT consists of two components: 1) a written component that includes a Survey of Natural Sciences Test, a Perceptual Ability Test, and a Reading Comprehension Test and 2) a manual dexterity component known as the Manual Dexterity Test (MDT). There is no Reading Comprehension Test on the French DAT.

It is important to understand that from 2021 onwards, registration for the written DAT component is separate from registration for the MDT component, and these components are administered separately during different sessions. The DAT registration for 2021 is for the written component only, and currently there is no MDT administration planned for 2021.

All important information needed to register for the DAT is provided in the DAT Information section. Applicants should review this information before beginning the registration process.

Learn more about important DAT dates.

Manual Dexterity Test

The MDT is optional as some dental schools do not use these test results. It is your responsibility to check with the school(s) you are interested in applying to, and to understand their admission requirements.

MDT in 2021

Candidates need to register for the MDT component separately from the written component of the DAT. Currently there is no MDT administration planned for 2021.

Information about the administration of the MDT for future sessions will be posted as information becomes available.

Test d’aptitude aux études dentaires

Le Test d’aptitude aux études dentaires (TAED) est administré par l’Association dentaire canadienne (ADC) pour aider les étudiants à évaluer leur aptitude à une carrière en médecine dentaire et aider les écoles de médecine dentaire dans la sélection des étudiants de première année.

Le Test d’aptitude aux études dentaires (TAED) en français comporte deux volets : 1) les épreuves écrites, qui comprennent un Test des sciences naturelles et un Test d’habileté perceptuelle; 2) l’évaluation de la dextérité manuelle, aussi appelée le Test de dextérité manuelle (TDM). Le TAED en anglais comprend en plus un Test d’évaluation de la compréhension écrite.

Il faut comprendre qu’à partir de 2021, l’inscription au TDM se fera séparément de l’inscription au TAED, et les deux tests auront lieu à des dates différentes. Le TAED qui aura lieu durant la période de 2021 portera seulement sur la composante écrite. À l’heure actuelle, aucun TDM n’est prévu pour 2021.

Tous les renseignements nécessaires à l’inscription au TAED se trouvent dans la section Information sur le TAED. On recommande aux candidats d’en prendre connaissance avant d’entamer le processus d’inscription.

En savoir plus sur Les dates importantes du TAED.

Test de dextérité manuelle

Veuillez noter que ce ne sont pas toutes les facultés de médecine dentaire du Canada qui incluent le test de dextérité manuelle (TDM) dans leurs conditions d'admission. Il incombe à chaque candidat de vérifier et de comprendre les critères d'admission des facultés de médecine dentaire auxquelles le candidat souhaite présenter une demande d'admission. Les étudiants qui présentent leur candidature à plus d'une faculté sont fortement encouragés à passer ce test.

Les tests de dextérité manuelle en 2021

Les candidats et candidates devront s’inscrire au TDM séparément du volet écrit du TAED. À l’heure actuelle, aucun TDM n’est prévu pour 2021.

L’information concernant l’administration des prochaines épreuves du TDM sera affichée dès qu’elle sera disponible.