Every year, the Canadian Dental Association (CDA) lobbies at the national level for federal tax initiatives and programs to have positive outcomes on oral health care, dental practices and the dental profession.

One of CDA's key annual advocacy activities is Days on the Hill. CDA works closely with cabinet ministers, critics, parliamentary secretaries and committee members who influence decision-making within the federal government.

  • The CDA's advocacy efforts ensure that oral health care remains a recognizable and significant public health issue. CDA informs key decision-makers about matters that impact dentistry and the oral health of all of Canada's populations.

2022 Days on the Hill

As part of ongoing engagement with Members of Parliament, Senators, and senior government officials, CDA annually conducts Days on the Hill, a series of meetings between these representatives and dentistry's leadership and advocacy volunteers.

This year's event was held virtually on May 9 to 13. Dr. Lynn Tomkins, CDA president, led the CDA delegation of elected officers, committee members and staff to bring oral health care issues to the attention of senior government officials on Parliament Hill.

Top Issues

The progress of women in dentistry; the growing shortage of dental assistants and its impact on the delivery of care; the need for federal investments in dental care; and the importance of good oral health for those in long-term care facilities topped the CDA’s topics of discussion in over 29 meetings held with parliamentarians.

Women in Dentistry – The Changing Dental Workforce

Up until the 1970s, dentistry was traditionally a profession dominated by men, with women principally working in supporting roles as dental assistants or dental hygienists. This has shifted significantly over the past several decades. As of 2021, roughly 40% of dentists in Canada were women, and gender parity is expected by 2035.

CDA is proud to welcome two women leaders in dentistry as President over the next two years: Dr. Lynn Tomkins (pictured left), is CDA’s second female President (2022-23). She will be succeeded by Dr. Heather Carr (pictured right), current president-elect on the CDA Board in 2023-24.

Dr. Lynn Tomkins Dr. Heather Carr

Dental Assisting Workforce Challenges

The challenges dental offices face when recruiting and retaining dental assistants have been a long-standing concern of both dental assistants and dentists. Even before the COVID-19 pandemic, there was a looming shortage of dental assistants, which was an obstacle to meeting the oral health needs of Canadians. In 2019, 36% of dental offices had vacant dental assistant positions. Over the course of the last decade, the ratio of new certified dental assistants to new dentists entering the workforce has decreased by more than half, from more than 3:1 to almost 1:1.

CDA recently partnered with the Canadian Dental Assistants’ Association (CDAA) to submit a project to ESDC’s Sectoral Workforce Solutions Program. Our project “Building the Professional Dental Assisting Workforce of the Future” seeks to address many factors impacting the attrition of dental assistants from their profession.

Challenges in the workforce poster

Federal Investment in Dental Care

Overall, approximately 67% of Canadians have dental benefits coverage to finance their dental care needs, in large part through employer-provided benefits. Additionally, 70% of those with employer-provided dental benefits indicated they would struggle to pay for their dental care needs if this coverage was disrupted. Nevertheless, there is still work to be done to ensure that all Canadians can achieve and maintain good oral health. That’s why CDA has always supported efforts at all levels of government to improve the oral health of Canadians and increase access to dental care.

CDA welcomes the federal government’s commitment, outlined in last month’s 2022 budget, to invest $5.3 billion over the next five years in providing access to dental care for Canadians. We look forward to collaborating closely with the federal government on ensuring these investments have maximum impact on the oral health of Canadians. For this reason, we strongly recommended that this funding flow through the existing program infrastructure at the provincial and territorial level.

Federal investments in dentistry poster

Oral Health in Long-Term Care Facilities

We are glad to see that the new, draft National Long-Term Care Standards released by Health Standards Organization contain references to oral health, including the importance of an oral health assessment on intake, and ensuring access to external dentalcare treatment providers. We have recommended that these standards be further strengthened by adding standards relating to delivery of a daily preventative oral care plan by appropriately trained staff; and ensuring facilities have the appropriate infrastructure, equipment, and tools to enable routine, basic dental treatment to be delivered on-site.

Oral health is an essential component of overall health, and that’s why the Canadian Dental Association has long recommended that these oral health standards be adopted by long-term care facilities.

Oral Health in longterm care facilities poster

Chaque année, l’Association dentaire canadienne (ADC) fait des démarches sur la scène nationale pour que les initiatives et les programmes fiscaux fédéraux aient des résultats positifs sur les soins de santé buccodentaire, les cabinets dentaires et la profession dentaire.

Les Journées sur la Colline constituent l’une des activités de sensibilisation phares menées tous les ans par l’ADC. L’ADC travaille en étroite collaboration avec des ministres, des porte-parole de l’opposition, des secrétaires parlementaires et des membres de comités qui exercent une influence sur la prise de décisions au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

  • Les efforts de défense des intérêts déployés par l’ADC font en sorte que les soins buccodentaires demeurent un enjeu de santé publique important et reconnaissable. L’ADC informe les décideurs clés sur les questions qui ont une incidence sur le monde dentaire et sur la santé buccodentaire de tous les groupes de la population du Canada.

Journées sur la Colline de 2022

Dans le cadre des relations soutenues qu’elle entretient avec des députés fédéraux, des sénateurs et des hauts fonctionnaires, l’ADC tient tous les ans les Journées sur la Colline. Il s’agit d’une série de rencontres entre ces représentants ainsi que des dirigeants du secteur associatif dentaire et des bénévoles qui défendent les intérêts de la population et de la profession.

En 2022, ces journées ont eu lieu du 9 au 13 mai. La Dre Lynn Tomkins, présidente de l’ADC, a mené la délégation de l’ADC composée d’administrateurs élus, de membres de comités et de membres du personnel pour porter les questions de soins buccodentaires à l’attention des hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement sur la colline du Parlement.

Grands enjeux

L’avancement des femmes en médecine dentaire, la pénurie croissante d’assistantes dentaires et son incidence sur la prestation de soins, le besoin d’investissements fédéraux dans les soins dentaires, et l’importance d’une bonne santé buccodentaire pour les personnes qui vivent dans les centres de soins de longue durée sont autant de sujets que la délégation de l’ADC a abordés au cours des # réunions tenues avec des parlementaires.

Femmes en médecine dentaire : le profil en évolution du personnel dentaire

Jusque dans les années 1970, la médecine dentaire était surtout l’apanage des hommes, les femmes occupant principalement des rôles de soutien, comme ceux d’assistantes dentaires et d’hygiénistes dentaires. La situation a considérablement changé au cours des dernières décennies. En 2021, quelque 40 % des dentistes au Canada étaient des femmes, et la parité entre les sexes devrait être atteinte d’ici 2035.

L’ADC aura l’honneur de compter sur deux femmes pour présider ses destinées durant les deux prochaines années : la Dre Lynn Tomkins (à gauche) est la deuxième femme à occuper la présidence de l’ADC (2022-2023); lui succédera, en 2023-2024, la Dre Heather Carr (à droite), actuellement présidente désignée.

Dr. Lynn Tomkins Dr. Heather Carr

Difficultés de pourvoir des postes en assistance dentaire

Les cabinets dentaires ont depuis longtemps de la difficulté à recruter et à retenir en poste des assistantes dentaires. Même avant la pandémie de COVID-19, il y avait une pénurie d’assistantes dentaires qui fait en sorte que les cabinets peinent à répondre aux besoins buccodentaires de la population. En 2019, 36 % des cabinets cherchaient à pourvoir des postes d’assistantes dentaires. Au cours de la dernière décennie, la proportion du nombre de nouvelles assistantes dentaires agréées par rapport au nombre de dentistes entrant sur le marché du travail a diminué de plus de la moitié, passant de plus de 3 : 1 à près de 1 : 1.

L’ADC s’est récemment associée à l’Association canadienne des assistantes dentaires pour soumettre un projet baptisé Building the Professional Dental Assisting Workforce of the Future au Programme d’appui aux solutions sectorielles pour la main-d’œuvre d’Emploi et Développement social Canada. Ce projet s’attardera aux nombreux facteurs ayant une incidence sur le taux d’attrition des assistants dentaires.

Challenges in the workforce poster

Investissements fédéraux dans les soins dentaires

Dans l’ensemble, quelque 67 % des personnes au Canada peuvent compter sur un régime d’assurance dentaire, bien souvent financé par leur employeur. De plus, 70 % de ces personnes ont indiqué qu’elles auraient du mal à payer leurs soins dentaires si cette couverture cessait. Néanmoins, il reste encore du travail à faire pour que toute la population jouisse d’une bonne santé buccodentaire. Pour cette raison, l’ADC a toujours soutenu les efforts de tous les ordres de gouvernement en vue d’améliorer la santé buccodentaire de la population et l’accès à des soins dentaires.

L’ADC se réjouit que le gouvernement fédéral se soit engagé, dans le budget de 2022, à investir 5,3 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans pour améliorer l’accès aux soins dentaires. Nous avons hâte de collaborer étroitement avec le gouvernement fédéral pour que cet investissement porte le plus de fruits possible pour la santé buccodentaire de la population canadienne. Pour cette raison, nous recommandons fortement que ces fonds soient affectés aux programmes déjà en place dans les provinces et les territoires.

Federal investments in dentistry poster

Soins buccodentaires dans les établissements de soins de longue durée

L’ADC se réjouit que l’ébauche de normes nationales en matière de soins de longue durée publiée par l’Organisation de normes en santé fasse mention de la santé buccodentaire, notamment de l’importance d’une évaluation de la santé buccodentaire à l’admission et la garantie d’un accès à des fournisseurs externes de soins dentaires. L’ADC a recommandé que ces normes soient encore renforcées pour inclure : la mise en œuvre d’un plan de soins buccodentaires préventifs quotidiens par un personnel dûment formé; des installations, du matériel et des outils appropriés dans les centres pour que des soins dentaires de base puissent y être prodigués.

La santé buccodentaire est un élément essentiel de la santé globale. Pour cette raison, l’ADC demande depuis longtemps que des normes de soins buccodentaires soient adoptées dans les établissements de soins de longue durée.

Oral Health in longterm care facilities poster