Dr Lynn Tomkins portrait
Dr. Lynn Tomkins, President

The Canadian Dental Association (CDA) is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Janet Lynn Tomkins as CDA president for 2022-2023.

Dr. Tomkins practised general dentistry for nearly 40 years, primarily in her own practice in Toronto. She has been involved in organized dentistry since she was a dental student, starting in 1979.

In 2010, she served as the president of the Ontario Dental Association and was honoured as one of Canada’s top 100 most powerful female leaders in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors by the Women’s Executive Network.

In 1980, Dr. Tomkins was the first ever woman to serve on the Board of Governors of CDA as the representative of CDA’s Council on Student Affairs. In 2015, she was appointed to the CDA Board of Directors and served on several committees and working groups to advance the dental profession and the oral health of Canadians.

Dr. Tomkins earned both her Bachelor of Science (Honours) and Doctor of Dental Surgery (Honours) from the University of Toronto (U of T). She is a clinical instructor in the Department of Oral Diagnosis and Oral Medicine at U of T’s Faculty of Dentistry, where, in 2006, she received the Dr. A. Bruce Hord Master Teaching Award for excellence in clinical teaching.

Dr. Tomkins lives in Toronto with her husband Dr. Daniel Kmiecik, DDS, and is “Auntie Lynn” to 29 nieces and nephews. She is an avid traveler and enjoys skiing, hiking, canoeing, scuba diving and exploring Canada’s national parks. Dr. Tomkins is also an associate member of the Senate of the Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada, Canada’s oldest continuously serving infantry regiment.

As the second trailblazing female CDA president in the association’s 120-year history, Dr. Tomkins will lead the organization in its mandate as the national voice for dentistry, dedicated to the advancement and leadership of a unified profession and to the promotion of optimal oral health as an essential component of general health.

Dr Lynn Tomkins portrait
Dre Lynn Tomkins, présidente

L’Association dentaire canadienne (ADC) a le plaisir d’annoncer la nomination de la Dre Janet Lynn Tomkins à la présidence du conseil d’administration pour 2022-2023.

La Dre Tomkins exerce la médecine dentaire générale depuis près de 40 ans, en grande partie depuis son propre cabinet à Toronto. Elle a commencé à s’investir dans le monde associatif dentaire en 1979, alors qu’elle était aux études.

En 2010, elle a assumé la présidence de l’Association dentaire de l’Ontario et a été désignée l’une des 100 femmes chefs de file les plus influentes des secteurs privé, public et à but non lucratif par le Women’s Executive Network.

En 1980, la Dre Tomkins a été la première femme à siéger au conseil des gouverneurs de l’ADC à titre de représentante du conseil des affaires étudiantes. En 2015, elle a été nommée au conseil d’administration de l’ADC, où elle a siégé à plusieurs comités et groupes de travail pour veiller à l’avancement de la profession dentaire et de la santé buccodentaire de la population canadienne.

La Dre Tomkins est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé en sciences et d’un doctorat en chirurgie dentaire de l’Université de Toronto. Elle est chargée d’enseignement clinique au Département de diagnostic buccodentaire et de médecine buccodentaire de la Faculté de médecine dentaire de l’Université de Toronto, où en 2006 elle a reçu le Prix d’excellence Dr-A-Bruce-Hord en enseignement clinique.

La Dre Tomkins habite à Toronto avec son mari, le Dr Daniel Kmiecik, DDS, et est connue comme « tante Lynn » par ses 29 neveux et nièces. Elle aime beaucoup voyager ainsi que faire du ski, de la randonnée, du canot et de la plongée sous-marine en plus d’explorer les parcs nationaux du Canada. Elle est membre associée du sénat du Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada, le plus ancien régiment d’infanterie en service continu du pays.

Deuxième femme à la présidence de l’ADC en 120 ans d’histoire, la Dre Tomkins mènera les destinées de l’association, qui a pour mandat d’agir comme porte-parole national de la profession dentaire au Canada et qui se voue à l’avancement et au leadership d’une profession unifiée ainsi qu’à la promotion d’une santé buccodentaire optimale, composante essentielle de la santé générale.